—just me, my honey and my puppy…


Yesterday was the epitome of FUN! My husband, puppy and I decided to jump in the van and take a day long road trip. Fourteen hours to be exact. We bought a new canon camera in March and are trying to get our photos noticed in the Canon sponsored Project Imagin8ion contest. So out for a photoshoot we went.

For almost twenty years my better half and I have had a variety of individual hobbies. We have each tried to get the other involved with those interests to no avail. My husband is into woodworking, guitars and music, and now enrolled through the University of Phoenix. I, however love dancing, writing, and reading celebrity gossip magazines. But now we have our new Canon T2i camera and a new hobby for two + puppy.

We left at 9:30AM and our first stop was graduation for 3 lovely young women at our church. Out came the T2i as Steve snapped several photos’ during the ceremony and reception. Then we picked up our Annie girl from my sisters and headed out across Interstate 64 in Virginia not knowing where we were going or what we would find to photograph along the way

We found plenty of dusty roads and the van is filthy. We found railroad tracks with a tiny old post office building, the Walton Mountain Museum, Afton Mountain Scenic overpass as well as brooks, streams, creeks, a log cabin building and several old barns.  

We stopped in Charlottesville at a Mexican restaurant with outdoor seating and puppy was able to sit with us. We met a great couple seated next to us and some adorable kids from Hampton who fell in love with Annie. We stopped for ice cream at Bruesters and they gave Annie a free puppy sundae with a dog biscuit on top.

Now let me tell you my puppy is pretty darn spoiled. She has a dog bed we carry on the lap so she can rest comfortably up front with the passenger. She gets to get out at each stop to stretch her legs, has plenty of drinking water and gets treats along the way. It is a great dogs life for Annie.

It was an old fashion quality day. No idea where the day would take us and what we would find. We left with a tank of gas, the camera and an idea. We found a genuine love along the way for a new hobby we can now both enjoy together.

Just me, my honey and my puppy!

Live Life to the Fullest and Follow Your Dreams

see you soon…

Develop a hobby. Let the winds of enthusiasm sweep through you. Live today with gusto.~ Dale Carnegie

About jant1951

Grandmother, mother, wife, sister, friend, aunt. A professed love of theatre. Retired from Verizon. Financial secretary at Rappahannock High School. Married to "The Mechanic Man". Love to travel. Born again Christian! View all posts by jant1951

2 responses to “—just me, my honey and my puppy…

Leave a Reply

