Hello Tampa Bay…


On behalf of the entire US Airways crew welcome to Tampa Bay. Touching down at 6:30PM brought me directly into the 90 degree flame of the Tampa Bay area. Add in the 100% humidity and you have a recipe for disaster for an out of shape over-the-hill grandma. After thirty-two years of  Tampa Bay life it now has one of the most undesirable climates in the  United States for me with hot–sticky–wet behind the ears–sweat beads at the neckline–searing warmth with tons of air conditioning needed almost year round. Weather leaving you chafed between the legs while wearing hose or brings exhaustion from being in the intense heat for any length of time. I have experienced horrifying sunburns in the past which have now reaped serious skin cancers on my back. And as always yesterday was no different. Upon exiting the Tampa airport the oppressive heat mingled with the humidity, mosquitoes and love bugs has not changed one bit since my last visit two years ago. Each time I hit the walkways of the airport I know why I live in Virginia. 

Taking the shuttle over to the main terminal to retrieve my luggage I noticed a couple in front of me heading toward the elevator. By the way they were dressed it was obvious to me they thought they were somewhere in the northern hemisphere. The gentleman sported a royal blue jacket with navy  pants and a long sleeve shirt. His female companion had a silk-ish orange long sleeve jacket with 9- inch high heels and beige hose. They appeared to be heading to a nearby convention of some sort. The woman was a slave in her own heels, struggling to keep abreast with her companion who was several feet in front of her.  Let’s just say heels of that height would make me an André the Giant size or 7 foot tall at best.  She apparently was unaware when she stepped outside into the sultryness of the evening air her entire outfit was going to melt right into her skin like white on rice.

Knowing the atmospheric conditions of the south brought me in jeans, a t-shirt and sandals. And once outside I remembered my sunglasses were parked inside the van in my Virginia driveway.  The bright sun of the evening was still upon us reminding me I needed those shades for the balance of the week. Guess that will be my first purchase of this visit.

Nestling in with my wonderful grandchildren will keep me indoors plenty over the course of the next 5 days. This time alone with my little ones will make this a worthwhile trip. Oh, by the way, the tomatoes are the best now. So with that said my inside time will bring about plenty of  hot Florida sunshine and delicious fresh vegatable salads which I do admit I love.

Live Life to its Fullest and Follow Your Dreams

From Sunny Florida…see you soon…

About jant1951

Grandmother, mother, wife, sister, friend, aunt. A professed love of theatre. Retired from Verizon. Financial secretary at Rappahannock High School. Married to "The Mechanic Man". Love to travel. Born again Christian! View all posts by jant1951

Comments are disabled.

