…Are Those Eggs Raw?…


The Sting of a Bully

It was a typical hot summer day in July when my two new friends called and asked me to meet them at the corner store. I was fifteen then. Dad had relocated the family to Florida the previous summer, a devastating time in my life. To this day dad contends we had a good old fashion dynasty meeting and the entire group of us agreed on the move.  All I commit to memory is the tearful goodbyes the Friday evening of the actual move and dad yanked us away a day early due to the trauma he was experiencing from the upset.

Making friends did not come easy to me. Overweight, plagued with big feet, thick glasses and goofy hair I considered myself to be the nerd of nerds. Attending 9th grade in a different city during the last year of middle school was difficult at best. Upon entering high school there was not one familiar face from the 9th grade class. Due to the city’s new busing rules the kids I briefly knew now attended other schools throughout St. Petersburg.

Grappling with my redesigned life I was more than anxious to spend some social time with a couple of girls who actually called me for an afternoon rendezvous. Gathering at the store, just a two-minute walk from the house proved to be brutal at best. A short stroll through a near-by neighborhood and some small talk fashioned right into a genuine bully session.  Totally unaware of what was about to happen I was enthralled to be chatting and strolling with my new best friends.

Quickly the sisters removed the raw eggs from the pockets of their shorts and cast the yellow yuck right below my waist. Completely bewildered I side-stepped each egg and managed to escape the torment and mess of the moment. In a flash I was gone wondering what in the world was wrong with me. Until today I thought this story would go to my grave.

Bullying has been in existence since the beginning of time. Even back in the biblical days many examples of bullying have been recorded. Bullying is tough stuff and not to be taken lightly. Contrary to popular belief most bullies have a high self-esteem. According to the Proactive-Behavioral Management website bullies usually have a sense of entitlement and a feeling of superiority over others, and lack compassion, impulse control and social skills. They enjoy being cruel to others.

Bullying appears in different sizes and shapes, including teachers, students, parents, siblings, friends, neighbors, and strangers. Bullying can materialize at home, at school, on the school bus, in the neighborhood and even the workplace.  The victims of such bizarre behavior can be socially, mentally, and physically affected and scarred for life. Take the time now to identify the traits of a bully and protect your loved ones. For more information visit http://www.bullying.org.

Live Life to its Fullest and Follow Your Dreams

see you soon…

I had my bully, and it was excruciating. Not only the bully, but the intimidation I felt.
Robert Cormier

About jant1951

Grandmother, mother, wife, sister, friend, aunt. A professed love of theatre. Retired from Verizon. Financial secretary at Rappahannock High School. Married to "The Mechanic Man". Love to travel. Born again Christian! View all posts by jant1951

Leave a Reply

