…musings of the Past…


Growing up New Brighton

Was as fun as it could be

Fondest memories flow within

Allowing the spirit to free.

♥♥♥♥

Born unto the Boomer age

When everything seemed right

Brought about a happiness

When all was black and white.

♥♥♥♥

Living with my grandparents

Championed delight

With one gigantic sleep-over

Every single night.

♥♥♥♥

There was a shiny mantle

That hosted all our treats

When one of us would misbehave

Granddad declared defeat.

♥♥♥♥

We never longed for anything

When Grandma was around

But when she passed and joined the Lord

Grand-pops did not sit down.

♥♥♥♥

He moved us all to Florida

In a whirlwind of despair

I never felt so terrified

Or lonely or so scared.

♥♥♥♥

Now life in St. Pete wasn’t bad

It took time to adjust

I’d love to go back home again

And see the angel dust

♥♥♥♥

Is it possible to return?

To a place you once had lived

I’m not sure I could endure

The closure I had missed.

♥♥♥♥

Life has brought me solid ground

Wherever I have travelled

I’m so grateful to have found

My soul did not unravel.

♥♥♥♥

So be content with what you have

And never lose your faith

God will aid you all the way

And never let you stray.

About jant1951

Grandmother, mother, wife, sister, friend, aunt. A professed love of theatre. Retired from Verizon. Financial secretary at Rappahannock High School. Married to "The Mechanic Man". Love to travel. Born again Christian! View all posts by jant1951

Leave a Reply

